Kim Scott

Kim Scott is a descendant of people living along the south coast of Western Australia prior to colonisation, and is proud to be one among those who call themselves Noongar.  He began writing for publication when he became a teacher of English. He is currently based at Curtin University in Western Australia as Professor of Writing, in the School of Media, Culture and Creative Arts.

Books from this author

The Fremantle Press Anthology of Western Australian Poetry
Fremantle Press Treasures: Benang
Kayang & Me


Inducted into Western Australian Writers Hall of Fame (2020)
Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for Indigenous Writing (Winner 2019)
Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature, Fiction (Shortlisted, 2019)
Queensland Literary Awards, University of Queensland Fiction Book Award (Winner 2018)
Western Australian of the Year (Winner 2012)
Western Australian of the Year, Indigenous Award (Winner 2012)
The Braille Book of the Year (Winner 2012)
NSW Premier’s Literary Award (2012)
Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature, Christina Stead Prize for Fiction (Winner 2012)
Miles Franklin Award (Winner 2000, 2011)
Commonwealth Writers Prize, South-East Asia and Pacific (Winner 2011)
Victorian Prize for Literature (Winner 2011)
Victorian Premier’s Literary Award, Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction (Winner 2011)
Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature, ALS Gold Medal (Winner 2011)
Western Australian Premier’s Book Award Fiction Prize (Winner 1999, 2011)
Kate Challis RAKA Award (Winner 2001 2011)
Indie Book Award (Shortlisted 2011)
Prime Minister’s Literary Award for Fiction (Shortlisted 2011)
Western Australian Premier’s Book Award Premier’s Prize (Winner 1999, 2010)
Matilda Award for Cultural Excellence (Winner 2007)
Centenary Medal (2003)
Queensland Premier’s Literary Award (Shortlisted 2000)
Tasmania Pacific Literary Award (Shortlisted 2001)
Dublin IMPAC Literary Award (Longlisted 2000)