A.J. Betts

A.J. Betts is a Fremantle-based author of five novels for young adults. She is also a columnist, teacher, speaker and cyclist. Her first novel for teenagers, Shutterspeed, was published by Fremantle Press in 2008 and was followed by Wavelength in 2010. Her third novel, Zac & Mia, won the 2012 Text Prize and was subsequently published by Text Publishing. It has gone on to win the 2014 SCBWI Crystal Kite Award and the 2014 Ethel Turner Prize for young adults at the New South Wales Premier’s Literary Awards. In 2019, A.J. was awarded the inaugural Western Australian Premier’s Literary Fellowship. A.J. grew up in Queensland and spent many years travelling abroad before moving to Perth in 2004.

Books from this author




Western Australian Premier’s Literary Fellowship (Winner 2019)
Australian Book Industry Awards (Shortlisted 2019)
Indie Book Awards (Shortlisted 2019)
Gold Inky Awards (Shortlisted 2019)
Queensland Literary Award (Shortlisted 2014)
SCBWI Crystal Kite Award (Winner 2014)
New South Wales Premier’s Literary Awards (Winner Ethel Turner Prize for young adults 2014)
Text Prize (Winner 2012)
Western Australian Premier’s Award (Shortlisted 2010)