Julienne van loon

Julienne van Loon

Julienne van Loon is the author of three novels and one non-fiction book, The Thinking Woman (NewSouth, 2019). Her novels include Road Story, winner of The Australian/Vogel Literary Award, and two other critically acclaimed works: Beneath the Bloodwood Tree, and Harmless. Her short stories and essays have appeared in The Monthly, Best Australian Stories, and Sydney Review of Books among other publications. In 2017, she was appointed an Honorary Fellow in Writing at the University of Iowa. From 2015-2019 she was a Vice Chancellor’s Senior Research Fellow with the writing and publishing program at RMIT University, Melbourne; she now holds an ongoing appointment there as Associate Professor. A teacher of creative writing since 1993, she has taught and mentored many of Australia’s most talented emerging writers

Books from this author

Women of a Certain Rage


The Australian/Vogel Literary Award (Winner 2008)
Commonwealth Writers Prize, Best First Book, Asia and Pacific (Shortlisted 2008)
Western Australian Premier’s Book Award, Fiction (Shortlisted 2008)