Meg McKinlay

Meg McKinlay is a children’s writer and poet whose work ranges from picture books through to young adult fiction. Her publications include the Prime Minister’s Literary Award-winning A Single Stone, and CBCA-shortlisted No Bears and Duck for a Day, among many others. Meg grew up in central Victoria, and spent her childhood roaming through the bush, striking it rich at least once a week on a vein of fool’s gold. Raised in a TV-free household, she was a bookish kid, in love with words, excited by dictionaries and spelling bees. These days she lives near the ocean in Fremantle and spends her days writing, reading and rambling. She is always busy cooking up more books.

Books from this author

How to Be an Author
Women of a Certain Rage
Bella and the Voyaging House
Drawn Onward
Bella and the Wandering House
Ten Tiny Things


Western Australian Premier’s Book Award (Winner 2019, 2020; Shortlisted 2007, 2016)
Prime Minister’s Literary Award (Winner 2016; Shortlist 2020)
Queensland Literary Award (Winner 2015; Shortlist 2021)
Aurealis Award (Winner 2015)
Victorian Premier’s Literary Award (Shortlisted 2016)
NSW Premier’s Literary Award (Shortlisted 2016, 2020)
Adelaide Festival Award for Literature (Shortlisted 2016)
SCBWI Crystal Kite Award (Winner 2013, 2020, 2021)
Environment Award for Children’s Literature (Shortlisted, 2013)
Children’s Book Council of Australia (Winner 2021; Honour Book 2016; Shortlisted 2011, 2012, 2020; Notable Book 2016, 2018, 2019)
Davitt Award (Winner 2012)
West Australian Young Readers Book Award (Shortlisted 2008, 2010, 2014, 2016, 2020)
Speech Pathology Book of the Year Awards (Shortlisted 2011)