Haynes gets a third gong from sci fi fans

Author of the Hal Spacejock series Simon Haynes has been shortlisted for his third science fiction award in 2009.

Hal Spacejock: No Free Lunch was shortlisted for a “Ditmar” on Saturday 9 May.

Haynes is one of six finalists in the Best Novel category that also includes Nathan Burrage, Margo Lanagan, Justine Larbeliester, Kim Westwood and Sean Williams.

Haynes was also shortlisted for an Aurealis Award and recently won a Tin Duck Award from science fiction fans in Western Australia.

The Australian Science Fiction Awards, commonly referred to as the Ditmar Awards or Ditmars, recognise excellence by Australians in Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror.

The Ditmars are named after Martin James Ditmar who was a founding member of the Melbourne Science Fiction Club and supported the awards financially until 1975. They have been running since 1969.

Best Novel Shortlist
Fivefold, Nathan Burrage
Hal Spacejock: No Free Lunch, Simon Haynes
Tender Morsels, Margo Lanagan
How to Ditch Your Fair, Justine Larbaliester
Daughter of Moab, Kim Westwood
Earth Ascendant, Sean Wiliams

Share via: