CEO Says recognition for Fremantle Press books is flowing in

We’re delighted to report that recognition for Fremantle Press books has been strong this month, with four titles making the award lists (as modelled here by Children’s Publisher Cate Sutherland).

Sister Heart by Sally Morgan and Bella and the Wandering House by Meg McKinlay both made the Children’s Book Council of Australia’s Notable book list. Fremantle Press authors James Foley, Bronwyn Bancroft and Dianne Touchell are also on the list. The CBCA’s Book of the Year awards are highly respected and influential. Now in their 70th year, they were established to promote books of literary and artistic quality. The shortlist will be announced on 20 May 2016.

Interestingly, both Morgan and McKinlay have made the CBCA’s Notable list for multiple books. This isn’t new for McKinlay. Last month, Bella and the Wandering House made the Aurealis Award shortlist but missed out when the award went to A Single Stone, also by McKinlay.

We were thrilled to see newcomer Brendan Ritchie’s young adult novel Carousel longlisted for the Inky Awards alongside Sister Heart by Sally Morgan. The longlist is selected by young adults, and the winners are voted online by teen readers of

Finally, Black Light by K.A. Bedford was shortlisted for a 2016 Tin Duck Award, the annual Western Australian Science Fiction Foundation (WASFF) Achievement Awards for WA writers and artists.

Congratulations to all our creators!


Books discussed
Black Light
Bella and the Wandering House

Share via: