Judges announced for 2018 Hungerford Award

We are pleased to announce that Westerly editor Dr Catherine Noske will join Delys Bird, Richard Rossiter and Georgia Richter on the judging panel of the 2018 City of Fremantle T.A.G. Hungerford Award.

Dr Noske lectures in creative writing at the University of Western Australia. She is an award-winning author who has been the recipient of a Varuna Fellowship. Delys Bird was an Associate Professor, then a Senior Honorary Research Fellow at the University of Western Australia until late 2016. She has published widely on Australian literature and has only recently retired as the long-term co-editor of Westerly. Richard Rossiter is an Honorary Associate Professor at Edith Cowan University. He is an experienced fiction editor and his books Arrhythmia: Stories of Desire and Thicker than Water: A novella are both published by UWAP. Georgia Richter is poetry, fiction and narrative non-fiction publisher at Fremantle Press who, over the past decade, has guided many award-winning books to publication.

Named in honour of Thomas Arthur Guy Hungerford, Western Australia’s longest running award for an unpublished manuscript offers a cash prize of $12,000 from the City of Fremantle and a publishing contract with Fremantle Press.

Entry opens on 2 February and closes on 16 March. The full terms and conditions are available at fremantle.wa.gov.au/library.

The City of Fremantle T.A.G. Hungerford Award is proudly sponsored by the City of Fremantle, Fremantle Library, The West Australian and Fremantle Press.



Share via: