Fremantle Press is pleased to announce that entries for the $20,000 Fogarty Literary Award will open on Monday 15 March 2021

For the second time, the Fogarty Foundation will partner with Fremantle Press to provide one of Australia’s most significant literary prizes for young writers. The Fogarty Literary Award is a biennial prize awarded to an unpublished manuscript by a Western Australian author aged between 18 and 35 for a work of fiction, narrative non-fiction or young adult fiction. The winner receives a cash prize of $20,000 and a publishing contract with Fremantle Press.

Inaugural winner Rebecca Higgie, whose work The History of Mischief was chosen from 64 entries in 2019, said winning the Fogarty Literary Award was the culmination of 12 years of work. ‘It’s no hyperbole to say this prize is a dream come true. Fremantle Press is amazing to work with, and the Fogarty Foundation truly champions young people. Winning the Fogarty is so much more than a cash prize and publishing contract. Since winning the award, I’ve become part of the writing community. I’ve been booked to speak at festivals, libraries and schools, which makes me feel like I can promote my love of reading, books and libraries to the broader community. I’ve been given so much from the Fogarty, but I also feel like it’s given me the opportunity to give back.’

Two shortlisted and one longlisted author were also contracted by Fremantle Press, with Where the Line Breaks by Michael Burrows, The Last Bookshop by Emma Young and Mel Hall’s The Little Boat on Trusting Lane (formerly The Shapes) all scheduled for release in 2021.

The 2021 Fogarty Literary Award will be judged by Fremantle Press, with the winner to be announced at a free community event in June 2021. The winning manuscript will be scheduled for publication in 2022 with an education tour planned to coincide with the book’s release.

The Fogarty Foundation was established by Brett and Annie Fogarty in 2000 to support and provide educational and leadership opportunities for young people across the spectrum of the Western Australian community. As well as partnering with a range of organisations, the foundation has initiated its own programs that include the UWA Fogarty Scholarship Program, CoderDojo WA and Fogarty EDvance.

Entries for the Fogarty Literary Award will open on Monday 15 March 2021 and will close on Sunday 18 April 2021. More information and submission guidelines can be found on the Fremantle Press website.


Books discussed
The History of Mischief
The Last Bookshop
The Little Boat on Trusting Lane
Where the Line Breaks

Share via: