Fremantle Press congratulates writers, friends and champions of literature on their latest honours

Writer and two-time Miles Franklin Literary Award winner Professor Kim Scott from the Faculty of Humanities at Curtin University has been awarded the title John Curtin Distinguished Professor. Introduced in 2005, the title is for exceptional teaching and research skills, or scholarly, creative or artistic achievements. In a media release on the Curtin University website, Vice-Chancellor Professor Harlene Hayne said it recognised an academic’s significant and sustained contribution to the University and the wider community throughout their distinguished career. Kim, whose works include Benang, True Country and Kayang and Me with Hazel Brown is currently investigating how digital technologies in combination with on-country camps may consolidate, enhance and help share Aboriginal heritage, culture and language.

Fremantle Press Champion of Literature Mr Bruce Wilson and writer Dr Sally Murphy were each recognised in the 2022 Queen’s Birthday Honours list. Both were awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in the General Division, Bruce for his service to athletics, and Sally for her service to children’s literature and to education. Fremantle Press would also like to congratulate supporter and friend of the Press Dr Tarun Weeramanthri who was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in the General Division for significant service to public health administration.

Share via: