Call for entries: The City of Fremantle Hungerford Award just got more exciting with one WA writer set to secure a publishing contract, a writing fellowship and a $15,000 cash prize

The value of Western Australia’s longest running and most prestigious award for an unpublished manuscript just got bigger. Submissions for the 2024 City of Fremantle Hungerford Award are open. Western Australian writers have just two months to enter their debut manuscript to be in the running to receive a a cash prize of $15,000 from the City of Fremantle, a publishing contract with Fremantle Press and now also a writing Fellowship from the Centre for Stories.

Fremantle Press CEO Alex Allan said for 33 years the biennial award had provided much-needed stimulus for Western Australian writers, creating opportunities for talents like Gail Jones, Natasha Lester, Holden Sheppard and Molly Schmidt to get their first book published. She said, ‘Just as Fremantle Press was born out of the simple idea that WA stories – the stories of this place and its people – ought to be told and shared with the world, the City of Fremantle Hungerford Award came from the desire to give debut writers the chance to take their place alongside our more established authors.’

Allan said the addition of the Centre for Stories Fellowship would see the winning writer undertaking a 12-week long hot-desk residency at the Centre, gaining to a library of over 3000 books, a quiet and safe space to work, meeting-room facilities, a stipend worth $1,500 and the opportunity to engage with other writers.

Mayor Hannah Fitzhardinge, who will announce the winner at a special ceremony in October, said the Fellowship was the perfect fit for an award that has helped so many talented Western Australian creators embark on their publication journeys. She said, ‘I watched last year’s winner Molly Schmidt go from strength to strength – she gained an instant network of Hungerford alumni to share experiences with, and the prestige of the award helping her novel Salt River Road reach national audiences in print, audio and ebook formats. We believe local stories are the cornerstone of a thriving arts community and we are proud to support the writers who enrich our lives and provide a sense of belonging for us all.’

Centre for Stories CEO and Founder Caroline Wood said, ‘Our Hot Desk Fellowships at the Centre for Stories have proven successful and popular. Writers, readers and the community love them. We are excited to be working with Fremantle Press to continue and extend this excellent offering, and their Award Winners will join others who are energising and making a valuable contribution to our local arts scene. Together, our partnership will support writers and enable them to flourish.’

The City of Fremantle Hungerford Award is given for a full-length manuscript of fiction or narrative non-fiction by a Western Australian author previously unpublished in book form. It is assessed anonymously without regard to background, age, identity or ability. Past recipients of the award are Brenda Walker, Gail Jones, Simone Lazaroo, Bruce Russell, Christopher Murray, Nathan Hobby, Donna Mazza, Alice Nelson, Natasha Lester, Jacqueline Wright, Robert Edeson, Madelaine Dickie, Jay Martin, Holden Sheppard, Maria Papas and Molly Schmidt.

This year’s judging panel is Seth Malacari, Marcella Polain and Richard Rossiter, alongside Fremantle Press Publisher Georgia Richter.

Entry is online and the full terms and conditions are available from the Fremantle Press Submittable page, Entries close at midnight AWST on Sunday 17 March 2024.

The City of Fremantle Hungerford Award is proudly sponsored by the City of Fremantle, Fremantle Press and the Centre for Stories.

More information including how to submit is available on the Fremantle Press submittable page:

Media contact:
Claire Miller, Fremantle Press, 0419 837 841

Share via: