Stolen Generations book in running for Adelaide prize

Sister Heart by Sally Morgan has been shortlisted for a 2018 Adelaide Festival Award for Literature in the children’s category.

Morgan said she was delighted Sister Heart had been recognised in this way. ‘It is an honour to join the 37 writers shortlisted for this award, whose words offer such varied viewpoints. To me, sharing our stories and experiences contributes to a deeper understanding of the past and enriches the future for every Australian,’ said Morgan.

Sister Heart, which previously won a Prime Minister’s Literary Award, tells the story of a young girl named Annie, who is taken from her family and country and placed in an institution for Aboriginal children.

Morgan said she hoped the shortlisting would help make a conversation about Australia’s Stolen Generations possible for new and broader audiences. ‘It’s important that we talk to our young people about the impact past government policies had on individuals, families and communities,’ said Morgan.

The biennial Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature celebrate Australia’s writing culture with prizes offered in six national and five South Australia categories. The other authors shortlisted in the children’s category are Trace Balla, Tristan Bancks, Bren MacDibble, Wendy Orr and Oliver Phommavanh. Winners will be announced on Saturday 3 March at a special ceremony during Adelaide Writers’ Week.

Sister Heart is available in all good bookstores and online.

Books discussed
Sister Heart

Share via: