Fremantle Press writer Norman Jorgensen smuggled into the Hall of Fame for fortieth anniversary year

Norman Jorgensen and Andy Griffiths have taken their places alongside Roald Dahl, Brian Jacques, Victor Kelleher, Paul Jennings, Duncan Ball and John Marsden in the West Australian Young Readers Book Awards (WAYRBA) Hall of Fame. Now in its fortieth year, the WAYRBA Hall of Fame is reserved for those authors who have won the award four times or more.

The author of classic adventure stories and picture books that include The Smuggler’s CurseThe Last Viking and In Flanders Fields, Norman said the news was ‘head-swelling’. He said, ‘I have always liked WAYRBA and its gang of dedicated volunteers who have successfully encouraged WA kids to read for all the years I have been in the book trade. Now I just LOVE them all. I am deeply honoured.’

Since its launch in 1980, the young readers of WAYRBA have voted on hundreds, possibly thousands of books. The WAYRBA Hall of Fame recognises and preserves the history and accomplishments of the past and present authors who have published books beloved by young local readers.

Norman said he was humbled to be in the company of his fellow Hall of Famers, particularly Roald Dahl. He said, ‘Having met Roald Dahl, being on the same list as him now feels rather surreal – in a really good way.’

Norman’s books can be found in all good bookstores and online:

The Wrecker’s Revenge

The Smuggler’s Curse

Jack’s Island

The Last Viking

The Last Viking Returns

In Flanders Fields

Share via: