Twelve Fremantle Press writers have been shortlisted in the 2021 WA Premier’s Book Awards across four categories. In the emerging writers category, the novels Eye of a Rook by Josephine Taylor and Locust Summer by David Allan-Petale, and the poetry collection Vociferate by Emily Sun, made the shortlist. In The Premier’s Prize for Writing for […]

Congratulations to Yuot A. Alaak, Kelly Canby, Jon Doust, Madelaine Dickie, Donna Mazza, Helen Milroy and Meg McKinlay, who are all one step closer to winning a Western Australian Premier’s Prize or Fellowship worth $15,000 and $60,000 respectively.

Young adult novelist Holden Sheppard was one of four Fremantle Press authors to be acknowledged in the 2019 Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards ceremony at the State Library of Western Australia on Friday 7 August 2020. Holden took home the The Premier’s Prize for an Emerging Writer worth $15,000 for his debut novel, Invisible Boys.

Congratulations to Amanda Curtin, Caitlin Maling, Ellen van Neerven, Fiona Burrows, Helen Milroy, Holden Sheppard, Kathryn Lefroy, Meg McKinlay and Rafeif Ismail, whose wonderful work as writers has taken them a step closer to winning a $15,000 cash prize or a fellowship worth $60,000.

Picture book author and illustrator Kelly Canby nabbed the top prize in the Writing for Children category at the 2018 Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards on 26 July.

Fremantle Press authors Kelly Canby, Amanda Curtin and Madelaine Dickie have all been shortlisted in their respective categories for one of the Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards 2018.

Fremantle Press authors Ray Glickman, Ezekiel Kwaymullina, Sally Morgan and Caitlin Maling have each been shortlisted for a 2016 Western Australian Premier’s Book Award from a national field of 792 entrants across nine categories.

Light Horse Boy by Dianne Wolfer and Brian Simmonds has won the Children’s Book category of the 2014 Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards. Both creators were on hand to receive their award from the Hon. Colin Barnett MLA, Premier of Western Australia at the awards ceremony at Hackett Hall in the Western Australian Museum.

In an announcement made by the State Librarian Margaret Allen this morning six Fremantle Press books were shortlisted for a 2014 WA Premier’s Book Award.

Books by Fremantle Press poet Tracy Ryan, author Michelle Gillespie and illustrator Sonia Martinez were amongst the eight winners announced at the 2011 Western Australian Premier’s Awards on Monday 17 September.

Five Fremantle Press titles were shortlisted in the 2008 and 2009 Western Australian Premier’s Awards amongst a much increased number of entries from around Australia.