What is Left Over, After was Natasha Lester’s Hungerford Award winning debut novel back in 2008. These days she’s topping the bestseller list of the New York Times, as well as offering advice to new and emerging authors.

Holden Sheppard won multiple awards for his manuscript Invisible Boys even before it was published, including the City of Fremantle Hungerford Award in 2018.

Fremantle Press author Madelaine Dickie is one of nine Australian writers shortlisted for the 2020 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship worth $15,000.

From the rodeos and fishing holes of northern Australia to the dazzling streets of night-time Tokyo, Red Can Origami is a gripping tale of love, loss, land and identity.

Geraldton-born Western Australian writer Holden Sheppard is one of three writers shortlisted for the Prize for Writing for Young Adults in the 2020 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards. Holden is in the running to receive a $25,000 prize, as well as the overall Victorian Prize for Literature worth an additional $100,000, the single most valuable literary […]

Our very own Champion of Literature and the force behind the Fogarty Literary Award, Annie Fogarty, has been named the 2020 WA Australian of the Year for her work through the Fogarty Foundation. Every year, the Australian of the Year Awards celebrate the achievements and contributions of eminent Australians who are positive role models in […]

Madelaine Dickie will be one of 11 authors to represent Australian literature on five different continents thanks to Writers Victoria and the Neilma Sidney Literary Travel Fund. While many recipients will head overseas, Madelaine will use the money to research her proposed manuscript ‘Gas Days or the Cost of Doing Good: A Biography of Wayne […]

Novelist and City of Fremantle Hungerford Award winner Madelaine Dickie will try her hand at a new genre next year. The Australian Government’s Regional Arts Fund grant will enable the Exmouth resident to commence the research and development of a unique biography about Wayne Bergmann, a Nyikina man, former finalist in the Western Australian of […]

The Society of Women Writers Victoria (SWWV) has awarded the biennial Nance Donkin Award to Albany-based Western Australian author Dianne Wolfer. Best known for her history-inspired picture books for older readers, Dianne has a diverse arts practice that includes novels for junior to young adult readers.

Almost three decades ago, Brenda Walker was an aspiring writer who became the very first winner of the City of Fremantle Hungerford Award. Now this multi-award-winning writer and Emeritus Professor, who has recently been chair of the judging panel for the Stella Prize, is a member of the judging panel for the Award’s thirtieth anniversary […]

It seems like only yesterday we were congratulating Holden Sheppard for winning the 2018 City of Fremantle Hungerford Award. Now we’ve already had to reprint his wonderful debut novel Invisible Boys after stock flew off the shelves in the first week of release.

Meg McKinlay and Deb Fitzpatrick are two of just five writers from around Australia to have secured a coveted May Gibbs Creative Time Residential Fellowship for 2020.

I first became a judge of the T.A.G. Hungerford Award in 2004, and have remained on the judging panel since.

More and More and More by Ian Mutch and Off The Track by Cristy Burne are shortlisted for the Environment Award for Children’s Literature. The award, which is in its 25th year, honours books promoting a love of nature in children through reading and stories.

Avan Judd Stallard’s Spinifex & Sunflowers has been longlisted for one of Australia’s oldest and most esteemed literary awards.

Picture book author and illustrator Kelly Canby nabbed the top prize in the Writing for Children category at the 2018 Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards on 26 July.

Fremantle Press author and City of Fremantle T.A.G. Hungerford Award winner Madelaine Dickie is on a winning streak. She was the only Western Australian writer to receive a Copyright Agency grant this year and has secured a writing residency in Mexico.

Fremantle Press authors Kelly Canby, Amanda Curtin and Madelaine Dickie have all been shortlisted in their respective categories for one of the Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards 2018.

The Australia Council has presented Fremantle Press author Holden Sheppard with the 2019 Kathleen Mitchell Award for Australian writers under the age of 30. Holden’s novel Invisible Boys has had a dream run in the lead-up to its publication this October, first winning the 2017 Ray Koppe Residency Award and then taking out the $12,000 […]

Read the judges report from the inaugural Fogarty Literary Award.

Como resident Rebecca Higgie won the inaugural Fogarty Literary Award for her manuscript The History of Mischief at a special ceremony at the ECU Spiegeltent on Wednesday 22 May 2019. Chosen from a field of 64 manuscripts by Western Australian writers aged 18 to 35, Higgie won a $20,000 cash prize from the Fogarty Foundation […]

Michael Burrows, Rebecca Higgie and Emma Young are still in the running for one of Australia’s newest and richest literary awards for young writers.

Michael Burrows is an author and poet from Perth. Here, he reads from his first novel, Where the Line Breaks, and talks about how it was inspired by an Anzac Day experience in Gallipoli, the search for Australian war poetry and his love for Western Australia.

Will Jacobs is a writer, engineer and Sydney Swans supporter from Perth. Here he talks about how his manuscript, Jeffrey, first started life as a song, and the important lessons he’s learned from storytelling.