Kelly Canby’s Rodney, Julia Lawrinson’s Maddie in the Middle and Holden Sheppard’s Invisible Boys have all been made Notable books in their respective categories in the Children’s Book Council of Australia Book of the Year Awards.

A huge congratulations to Helen Milroy, author of Wombat, Mudlark and Other Stories, for being among the six books shortlisted for the Readings Children’s Book Prize worth $3,000.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander readers are advised that this blog post contains images and the name of a person who has died. Please take care.

At the end of 2019, with her customary desire to avoid the fanfare she so richly deserves, Fremantle Press editor and manuscript assessor Wendy Jenkins left the building. It is an understatement to say this is the end of an era: Wendy began work with the Press, formerly known as Fremantle Arts Centre Press, just […]

Fremantle Press extends its deepest sympathy to the family and friends of Dr William John Peasley, who passed away on 2 January, just a couple of weeks short of turning 93.

Holden Sheppard won multiple awards for his manuscript Invisible Boys even before it was published, including the City of Fremantle Hungerford Award in 2018.

Fremantle Press author Madelaine Dickie is one of nine Australian writers shortlisted for the 2020 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship worth $15,000.

Fremantle Press CEO Jane Fraser has pledged the company’s support of early literacy in children from disadvantaged backgrounds by donating picture books to the Victorian not-for-profit organisation Reading Out of Poverty (ROOP).

Geraldton-born Western Australian writer Holden Sheppard is one of three writers shortlisted for the Prize for Writing for Young Adults in the 2020 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards. Holden is in the running to receive a $25,000 prize, as well as the overall Victorian Prize for Literature worth an additional $100,000, the single most valuable literary […]

Our very own Champion of Literature and the force behind the Fogarty Literary Award, Annie Fogarty, has been named the 2020 WA Australian of the Year for her work through the Fogarty Foundation. Every year, the Australian of the Year Awards celebrate the achievements and contributions of eminent Australians who are positive role models in […]

Madelaine Dickie will be one of 11 authors to represent Australian literature on five different continents thanks to Writers Victoria and the Neilma Sidney Literary Travel Fund. While many recipients will head overseas, Madelaine will use the money to research her proposed manuscript ‘Gas Days or the Cost of Doing Good: A Biography of Wayne […]

Novelist and City of Fremantle Hungerford Award winner Madelaine Dickie will try her hand at a new genre next year. The Australian Government’s Regional Arts Fund grant will enable the Exmouth resident to commence the research and development of a unique biography about Wayne Bergmann, a Nyikina man, former finalist in the Western Australian of […]

The Society of Women Writers Victoria (SWWV) has awarded the biennial Nance Donkin Award to Albany-based Western Australian author Dianne Wolfer. Best known for her history-inspired picture books for older readers, Dianne has a diverse arts practice that includes novels for junior to young adult readers.

Almost three decades ago, Brenda Walker was an aspiring writer who became the very first winner of the City of Fremantle Hungerford Award. Now this multi-award-winning writer and Emeritus Professor, who has recently been chair of the judging panel for the Stella Prize, is a member of the judging panel for the Award’s thirtieth anniversary […]

Brush up on some incredible details about Perth’s most iconic buildings from the book Built Perth by Tom McKendrick and Elliot Langdon and you’ll be an architecture guru in no time.

It seems like only yesterday we were congratulating Holden Sheppard for winning the 2018 City of Fremantle Hungerford Award. Now we’ve already had to reprint his wonderful debut novel Invisible Boys after stock flew off the shelves in the first week of release.

Meg McKinlay and Deb Fitzpatrick are two of just five writers from around Australia to have secured a coveted May Gibbs Creative Time Residential Fellowship for 2020.

Editor Armelle Davies has been working at Fremantle Press for almost two years now. Here, she walks us through what her job entails on a day-to-day basis, and offers a behind-the-scenes look at working for a book publisher.

Josephine Taylor is the latest writer from the Four Centres Emerging Writers Program to receive a publishing contract with Fremantle Press. In this post, she details how it helped her on the path to publication.

Marketing and Communications Manager Claire Miller has been dreaming of a Fremantle Press Commemorative Sausage ever since the company’s fortieth anniversary party in 2016. Now a local butcher has made her dream come true.

I first became a judge of the T.A.G. Hungerford Award in 2004, and have remained on the judging panel since.

This month the premises of the Government of Western Australia at 189 Royal Street East Perth will be officially named the May Holman Building in honour of the Labor Party’s first female parliamentarian.

Pages from Sally Morgan and Ezekiel Kwaymullina’s vibrant picture book We All Sleep have been chosen to be displayed as part of a new walking trail in the City of Hume, Victoria.